Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile – FIA

Automotive records established at Mike Cook’s Bonneville Shootout require certification by the FIA to confer official world record status by the world motorsports governing authority. The FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) is a non-profit association established as the Association Internationale des Automobile Clubs Reconnus (AIACR) on 20 June 1904 to represent the interests of motoring organizations and motor car users. To the general public, the FIA is primarily known as the governing body for many auto racing events. FIA records are difficult to achieve. Acquiring FIA record status ensures that strict governing standards have been applied to the management, conduct and timing of officially certified record events thus elevating the record setter to the maximum level of achievement with full recognition.

Headquartered at 8, Place de la Concorde, Paris, the FIA consists of 213 national member organisations in 125 countries worldwide. Its current president is Jean Todt. The FIA is generally known by its French name and acronym, even in non French-speaking countries, but is occasionally rendered as International Automobile Federation. Its most prominent role is in the licencing and arbitration of Formula One motor racing.
The FIA along with the FIM also certify land speed record attempts.

The Association Internationale des Automobile Clubs Reconnus (AIACR) was founded in Paris on 20 June 1904.In 1922, the FIA delegated the organization of automobile racing to the Commission Sportive Internationale (CSI), an autonomous committee that later became the Fédération Internationale du Sport Automobile (FISA). A restructuring of the FIA in 1993 led to the disappearance of the FISA, putting motor racing under direct management of the FIA.

Organizational structure

The FIA General Assembly is The Federation’s supreme governing body, consisting of the presidents of the FIA’s numerous member clubs.

The head of the FIA and chairman of the General Assembly is the President. The President is elected to a four-year term by the FIA General Assembly, and from October 2005 onward will not be permitted to serve more than two terms. The previous President, who took office in 1993 and began his fourth term in 2005, is Max Mosley. Mosley did not stand for re-election in October 2009, with Jean Todt being elected president.

The 10-member FIA Senate consists of the President of the Senate; the current and previous Presidents of the FIA; the Deputy President for the FIA Mobility and the Automobile group; the Deputy President for FIA Sport group; and five further members elected by the General Assembly. From FIA Statue #17: “The Senate takes the decisions required by the management of the FIA when circumstances do not permit a meeting of the Committee or of the World Councils, especially in cases of emergency; decisions thus taken must be confirmed during the next meeting of the Committee or of the relevant World Council.”

The Senate also makes accounting and budget decisions, preparing draft budgets for the World Councils. The Senate forms sub-Committees on subjects such as Commercial Promotions, in order to make recommendations and review proposals.

The FIA World Council for Mobility and the Automobile governs all non-sporting FIA activities, and is headed by the Deputy President for Mobility and the Automobile.

The FIA World Motor Sport Council governs all the sporting events regulated by the FIA. It is also responsible for the promotion of safety in worldwide motorsport, the encouragement of standardized regulations, and the promotion of motorsport in new markets, including developing countries. The council consists of the FIA President, and Deputy President, seven FIA vice-presidents, and 17 other members. The seventeen others must represent a national sporting authority for at least one international event.

The FIA International Court of Appeal is the final appeal tribunal for international motor sport. It resolves disputes brought before it by any of motorsport’s National Sporting Authorities worldwide, or by the President of the FIA. It can also settle non-sporting disputes brought by national motoring organizations affiliated to the FIA.

Other organisations and posts include the Mobility and Automobile commissions, sporting commissions, the FIA Deputy President for Sport, and the FIA Secretariat.